Extreme Makeover: iTunes Edition

IMG_0203

Urban Ears earphones // Kate Spade wristlet

Ever feel as if you’re skipping every single song in your music library? If you nodded yes, it’s time for an iTunes Extreme Makeover. For myself, 2014 was the year I grew out of hip hop and rap and discovered the amazing genre of alternative music. I no longer enjoyed the usual culprits (Drake, Kanye, Miguel) but my music library was so saturated with them that I realized I needed a change.

So, deciding to completely revamp my iTunes library, I pitilessly deleted music that I always skipped and added new artists that I found while frequenting 8tracks and 102.7 The Peak (a Vancouver “New Rock” radio station). For those who are intrigued with the idea, here are some rules to follow when refreshing your music library:

Rule #1: Reflect. Take the time to really think back to all the times you played some tunes from your music library. Play back the middle clips of songs and reflect to determine if you want to keep or delete.

Rule #2: Say goodbye to songs that you overplayedI was the biggest Drake fan all through high school, so a lot of his songs induce feelings of nostalgia in me. However, I had listened to each and every song so many times that, at one point, every song on my Top 25 Most Played playlist was by Drake (not my proudest moment lol) and I could no longer stand to sit through an entire song. If this is you, it’s time to click delete and move on.

Rule #3: Be honest! In my opinion, this is the most important rule. Don’t fool yourself by reasoning that you’ll listen to the song more in the future. If you haven’t listened to and/or consistently skipped the song for the past three months, it’s time to say goodbye.

Rule #4: Download, download, download. Find some artist that you’ve liked recently, download their music, and when you’re done with them scroll down and browse the “Listeners Also Bought” section of iTunes. From there, it shouldn’t be too difficult to find amazing new music!

So if you’re like me and you’re sick of your current music library, it’s time for an extreme makeover! Trust me, your newly revamped iTunes library will be the best thing ever.

6 thoughts on “Extreme Makeover: iTunes Edition

Leave a Reply

